the fierce feminist

I don’t know about you but I can hardly read the news anymore. Another beheading, this time a 5 year old girl. This on top of the Muslim wife killed by her tv channel founder-husband — all because she filed for divorce. Then the man shooting old people in a nursing home. The word was that his ex-wife worked there. And, of course, our local tragedy of Esme, strangled in the woods on a sunny Saturday afternoon.

All this definitely brings out the fierce feminist in me. But I feel helpless. What can I do exactly? Nothing, it seems. It is this paralyzing inaction that frustrates me. There is anger, too, certainly, but the helplessness weighs heaviest.

LOKAH SAMASTA SUKHINO BHAVANTU

“May all beings everywhere be happy and free and may the thoughts, words and actions of my own life contribute in some way to that happiness and to that freedom for all.”

May peace begin with me ……. How can I integrate these two parts of me? The fierce feminist and the compassionate yogini?

Leave a Reply

