the geese have adopted my place / Poem #23

Those two who were on my roof . . . they’re baaaack.

It’s hard to believe they are actually hanging out on ‘my’ creek. It’s pretty low but what do I know about geese? I realize I know very little, in fact. Perhaps low levels of water make finding the critters easier. I’m guessing they chased the mallard couple away though I did see them briefly earlier today. Are geese and ducks territorial? I was told the owls chased the red shouldered hawks on up the woods so they could have their nest. Now the hawk is directly outside my house. But geese — hmm, they are named ‘Canada’ but do they ever go back there or that’s just their ancestry?

geese

geez louise you’re loud
if you’re not sitting on my roof
you’re taking over the creek

Leave a Reply

