Mr G & poem 41

Went to pick up Mr. G from the hospital this afternoon. After waiting two hours, we found out he needed to stay over another night.

I came home exhausted. Thought I might scream if I had to drive across the county too many more times. It was beautiful outside but I couldn’t even enjoy staying out on my deck for long. Ended up taking a brief nap on the couch. Ate Trader Joe’s Roasted Gorgonzola crackers for dinner.

Much later, I realize the visit in his hospital room brought back Mom’s final hospital stays. No wonder — it is so obvious now but only when I was safely away.

poem

being in that place
the sounds, the smells,
not knowing how much longer

Leave a Reply

