being with the sadness

This morning out in my backyard, alone, I started crying. “Bodhi, I’m so sorry. I couldn’t help it. There was nothing else to do,”

I was walking with a chant on my tablet, my anxious-lazy version of a walking meditation. On those stones, those many stones from Home Depot–was it two summers ago now? My mad idea of a zen rock garden.

I should call Sally. She’d understand. Do therapy again? But my answer was simple: just feel it, feel the sadness, I have to go through it.

One response to “being with the sadness

  1. Rashma N. Kalsie

    We must go through this sadness, the fodder for poetry. No relationship, no crying, no lament is a waste of time and emotion. They are the stuff we are made of. Our broken hearts, aborted loves, lost friends and pets made us what we are today, Bodhi, Zen garden, Janice and the rest are you. And you are them.

Leave a Reply

