three this year

 

Three this year

and it’s only August.

There is no rhyme or

reason for why

some are easier

than others.

 

I don’t care if it’s

just a dog.

I found him at the pound.

Handsomest male that day!

He trained me in trust

and lobbied hard for loyalty.

 

I don’t care if it’s

just a cat.

Longest relationship yet!

Eighteen years of telling me

what to do and when to feed her.

And when it was cold

she slipped under the cover

like a feline who knows

she’s top lover.

 

And when you said you were

leaving, even if it was

the third time this year,

this time I believed you.

You invoked the anger on my face,

making me admit it was there,

even though I fought it.

 

Three this year

and it’s only August.

Perhaps some will always

be easier than others.

 

One response to “three this year

  1. Rashma Naveen Kalsie

    I really like this poem. Please treasure it-share it-publish it once you have written some more about Judy’s going away. Dog and cat are well explored, explore the lover too. I hope your house doesn’t feel too lonely. Rashma

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

