My heart memoir may be a project for awhile!

For those of you who don’t know me in person or follow me on Facebook, you don’t know what happened after that post about my chest pains and upcoming hospital procedure. Obviously, I lived! (Phebe lives & isn’t Spring beautiful is my current mantra).

What was totally unexpected was that I needed open-heart surgery. I was told the stents would fight each other, that I had multiple blocked arteries. As fate would have it, one of the best surgeons in the City, evidently (Dr. Answini) had an opening the next day.

The test was Monday, my surgery was Tuesday, I left the hospital Sunday afternoon. My friend and colleague in the arts, Bev Bowers, began rounding people up to spend nights with me, bring me meals, help in those daily ways. My friend Vic Ramstetter quickly made calls that Sunday morning to line up that first week–back home. And my sister Linda Sutton was a true bodhisattva, giving up much of her life for a week to be at the hospital, communicate with the nurses, buy me a recliner, and keep me company.

So it all happened so fast. This is a good thing! I didn’t have much time to be scared of dying, make arrangements, and process it all until these past few months. February 10th was the triple bypass, February 17th my birthday, and I am now taking my coronary heart disease seriously. Cardiac rehab is great, so helpful. I am throwing a party/celebration in two weeks to thank my helpers and honor my 65th birthday three months later.

I will share some of my stories here, from time to time. Plan to publish my heart memoir (Angina Monologues, anyone?) at some point, even if it’s self-publishing just ‘cuz.

4 responses to “My heart memoir may be a project for awhile!

  1. Rashma N. Kalsie

    Great going – our experiences is all that we have and the matters of heart are the most important of all.

    • Thanks, Rashma. Yes, we create using our experiences and the heart is pretty darned important, I found!

  2. fastpitchump@aol.com

    Namaste! Though I do not know you personally, I have learned so much from you! Wishing you peace on your new journey- and lots of heart healthy veggies! Much love and light! Jen

    Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

    • Appreciate your generous words, Jen. Blogging is a great way to share our wisdom and learnings along the way. Peace & health to you!

Leave a Reply

