When the goddess loses her head

I am sitting in front of a pocket-sized Kwan Yin statue. The goddess of compassion’s head broke off.
This has happened a few times in the past with other small Kwan Yins—always her and always her head. You could say, well, the head and neck are the most vulnerable point, where the point of resistance is less.
When this happened last time, I interpreted the symbolism to mean “off with her head,” “leave your head behind,” or “free your mind.” I believe this is a sign to Get Out of My Head.
First: don’t worry about online dating. I went to dinner with someone half a dozen times. We’re both busy, it’s true, yet there’s a lapse in communication. Is ‘it’ over? Will we (just) be friends? In my experience in the lesbian world, get to know someone well enough and you could end up friends not lovers.
As an Aquarius, my credo is to be both. I want a lover who will also be a friend. But I have a multitude of friends and close acquaintances I can turn to. Not sure if this one is “The One.” (Do I even believe in this anymore, anyway?)
My early zen training taught me “Don’t Know Mind.” So I remind myself to not worry; if it’s right, it will be.
So is Kwan Yin losing her head telling me to Forget my Head? Use it for necessary tasks like budgets and reading and analyzing. But not analyzing PEOPLE.
I vow to participate in only Conscious Analyzing from now on. When I catch myself hanging on tightly to my head, be gentle. Just BE.

Kwan Yin with her head off

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “When the goddess loses her head

  1. Lovely, honest piece. I nearly thought the Goddess lost her head and beat up someone. lol. Take care of your heart.

  2. “When I catch myself hanging on tightly to my head, be gentle. Just BE.”
    Yes

Leave a Reply

